News and Press Releases

Ephraim Sykes and Shahadi Wright Joseph join HAIRSPRAY LIVE!

Hamilton cast member Ephraim Sykes and young School of Rock cast member Shahadi Wright Joseph are the latest actors announced to join NBC’s starry broadcast of Hairspray Live!

Sykes will star as Seaweed J. Stubbs with Wright set to portray Little Inez, NBC announced September 7.

Hairspray also stars Tony Award winner Harvey Fierstein, recreating his Tony-winning Broadway role as Edna Turnblad, as well as Kristin Chenoweth as Velma Von Tussle, Andrea Martin as Prudy Pingleton, Ariana Grande as Penny Pingleton, Sean Hayes as Mr. Pinky, Rosie O’Donnell as the gym teacher, Garrett Clayton as Link Larkin, Martin Short as Wilbur Turnblad, Derek Hough as TV host Corny Collins, Oscar winner Jennifer Hudson as Motormouth Maybelle and newcomer Maddie Baillio as Tracy Turnblad.

Hairspray Live! will air December 7 at 8 PM.

Fierstein will provide a new teleplay, and Jerry Mitchell (Kinky Boots, On Your Feet!) will serve as choreographer for the live production with music and lyrics by Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman (Smash, Catch Me If You Can and Broadway’s upcoming Charlie and the Chocolate Factory). Kenny Leon (The Wiz, Fences) will direct.